SACAT jurisdictions

Within specified areas of law, or jurisdictions, SACAT can help people resolve issues, can make a decision, and can conduct reviews of Government and SACAT decisions.

These areas are outlined in several laws, which can be viewed on the South Australian Legislation website:

The following legislation specifies the areas of law in which SACAT can operate and the cases the Tribunal handles in each jurisdiction.


Relevant legislation

SACAT cases

Advance Care Directives Act 2013

Advance Care Directives, Guardianship

Community Housing Providers (National Law) (SA) Act 2013 

Reviews of community housing decisions

Consent to Medical Treatment and Palliative Care Act 1995 

Consent to medical treatment

First Home and Housing Construction Grants Act 2000

Reviews of the Treasurer’s decisions on objections about first home owner grants, or housing construction grants or seniors housing grants 

Freedom of Information Act 1991

Reviews of freedom of information determinations; reviews of amendment of record determinations

Guardianship and Administration Act 1993 

Guardianship, administration, consent to medical treatment 

Local Government Act 1999  

Land valuation reviews

Mental Health Act 2009 

Mental health

Powers of Attorney and Agency Act 1984

Advance Care Directives

Residential Tenancies Act 1995 


Retirement Villages Act 1987 


Residential Parks Act 2007 


SA Cooperative and Community Housing Act 1991

Reviews of community housing decisions

South Australian Housing Trust Act 1995 

Reviews of Housing SA decisions

Valuation of Land Act 1971 

Land valuation reviews