Tribunal members

Members of SACAT conduct hearings and conferences, conciliation and mediation to resolve issues for members of the South Australian community. 

Reflecting the diversity of our community and the issues our users face, SACAT’s Tribunal Members are from a range of professions and backgrounds. They include lawyers, psychiatrists, people with a social welfare or nursing background, people with a public sector background and accredited mediators. SACAT has members from non-English speaking backgrounds, those that have experience with and knowledge of disability, mental illness, and other barriers faced by SACAT users.  

The role of the Tribunal Member at a hearing or conciliation is to uphold the law and to uphold the values of the Tribunal: respect for the law, fairness, independence, respect for persons, diligence and efficiency, integrity and accountability and transparency.

Judicial Members

Justice Judy Hughes, President

Executive Senior Members

Ms Barbara Johns, Executive Senior Member, Housing and Civil Stream

Ms Jacqui Rugless, Executive Senior Member, Community Stream

Mr Mark Stevens, Executive Senior Member, Administrative and Disciplinary Stream

Dispute Resolution Officers and Deputy Registrars

Ms M Player-Brown, Dispute Resolution Coordinator

Ms S Savic, A/Deputy Registrar - Housing and Civil Stream

Ms D Attard, Deputy Registrar - Community Stream

Mr C Byron-Scott, Deputy Registrar - Administrative and Disciplinary Stream

Tribunal Members

Ms M Alvino

Mr R Armour

Dr M Bagato

Ms J Bakas

Ms J Barnes

Mr G Box

Ms L Clark

Dr D Coyte

Ms C D'Arcy

Ms B Day

Mr P Duffy

Ms J Dunstone

Ms A Faulkner

Mr A Files

Ms J Forgan

Mr S Georgiadis

Ms L Gilfillan

Dr J Gipslis

Mr T Griffin

Ms D Gursansky

Ms L Hastwell

Dr J Hundertmark

Mr J Irving

Mr M Kennedy

Ms A King

Dr J Lammersma

Mr C Larkin

Mr A Lazarevich

Ms C Lester

Ms R Maerschel

Ms H Mares

Ms K McEvoy

Ms K Millar

Prof D Parker

Ms J Petrie

Mr N Rainford

Mr D Rathman

Dr G Rawson

Ms J Richardson

Ms M Rischbieth

Mr R Schroeder

Dr E Skinner

Mr D Stevens

Mr E Stratton-Smith

Ms L Sudano

Ms D Watkins

Dr D Watson


Ms C Wilson *

Ms J Cowdroy *

Ms S Carlton *

*3 month appointments